Student Devotional for the Second week of Lent at BSC

acm_0131Weekly Student Devotional for the Season of Lent

The Christian season of Lent begins this year on Wednesday, March 1st, and continues until Sunday, April 18th.  Lent begins with Ash Wednesday, a holy day during which Christians are meant to reflect on their own limitations and mortality and remember their need for God. During the 40 days of Lent, Christians are called to reflect on their life of faith and their dependence on God for life, forgiveness, and salvation.  Easter marks the end of Lent and the beginning of a season of celebrating the resurrection of Jesus and the hope of new life.

Student Devotional for the second week of Lent

Psalm 32: 1-8  

“Blessed is the one whose transgressions are forgiven, whose sins are covered. Blessed is the one whose sin the Lord does not count against them and in whose spirit is no deceit. When I kept silent, my bones wasted away through my groaning all day long. For day and night your hand was heavy on me; my strength was sapped as in the heat of summer. Then I acknowledged my sin to you and did not cover up my iniquity. I said, “I will confess my transgressions to the Lord.” And you forgave the guilt of my sin. Therefore, let all the faithful pray to you while you may be found; surely the rising of the mighty waters will not reach them. You are my hiding place; you will protect me from trouble and surround me with songs of deliverance. I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you with my loving eye on you.”

This passage speaks more generally about who Jesus is and what Jesus has done for us. Jesus forgives us of our sins and the only thing Jesus asks of us is that we would tell Jesus about those sins and turn to Jesus in our time of need. I say that this passage speaks generally about Jesus because we can go to Jesus in prayer at any time and Jesus will listen. More specifically, however, I believe that it applies to the season of Lent and the idea of repentance that goes along with that. Lent is a time of reflecting on our lives and making efforts to grow closer to God, and often a step in this process is repentance for our sins.

I also cannot help but think about the celebration that is coming at the end of the Lenten season. Easter is probably the first thing you think of when you hear about the end of this season. I, however, am referring to Good Friday. I have always found more connection and growth with God and Jesus on this day than any other. Good Friday is the day we remember the death of Jesus on the cross for our sins. Jesus paid the ultimate sacrifice on that day in order to forgive us from our sins, and all Jesus asks of us is that we would repent and turn to Jesus, in this season and in each day of our lives.

In order to put this in more tangible terms, I thought about the relationship between a parent and a child. Yesterday I read a book to the children that I work with called “I’ll Always Love You”. This book tells the story of a little bear who breaks his Mama’s favorite honey jar. He is so worried that she will no longer love him because of this. He goes to her and asks if she loves him and her response is, “I’ll always love you”. He then asks if she would still love him if he did certain things, such as have a pillow fight, or spill this paint on his baby sister. Of course her response is still, “I’ll always love you”. You get the idea. A parent usually will show love and forgiveness no matter what their child has done, all they expect is that their child would be honest with them.

The same goes for Jesus and us. Jesus will always forgive us for our sins, in fact Jesus already has forgiven us for our sins. When we turn to Jesus and tell Jesus what we have done against Jesus or others and ask, do you still love me? Jesus’ answer will always be “I’ll always love you”.

Emily Eidson, Class of 2017

Leave a Reply

